Valentine’s Day Bark

In Dessert on February 14, 2011 at 8:48 am

Nothing says Valentine’s Day quite like a chocolate treat. With the stores full of everything from chocolate roses to heart shaped boxes of chocolate candies, I thought I would take a cue from them and make a chocolate Valentine’s Day treat for my co-workers. Since I had enjoyed working with chocolate so much when I made the Black and White Cookies last week, I looked for a recipe that would allow me a bit of a challenge versus just a traditional chocolate chip cookie (though there is nothing wrong with a chocolate chip cookies). I stumbled upon this recipe for Valentine’s Day Bark while surfing the Internet looking for Valentine’s Day recipes. I naturally altered it a little bit by using:

Ingredients

  • 24 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 2 ounces of red heart-shaped cinnamon candies

First, I preheated the oven to 200°F. While the oven warmed up I spread a sheet of wax paper over the bottom of a cookie sheet. I then poured the chocolate chips evenly over the cookie sheet.

24 Ounces of Chocolate Chips

Once the oven was done preheating I placed the chocolate chips in to melt for about 10 minutes, I checked them every few minutes to see how quickly they were melting.

Melted Chocolate

I sprinkled the red heart-shaped cinnamon candies evenly over the melted chocolate while it was still warm, then put it in the refrigerator to cool and harden.

Ready for the Refrigerator

Once the chocolate had cooled and hardened I broke it into pieces and placed it in tupperware to bring into work. I left it in the refrigerator, since my apartment gets warm and I didn’t want the chocolate to melt. Hope you enjoy this Valentine’s Day treat as much as I do and that everyone has a Happy Valentine’s Day!

Valentine's Day Bark

Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

