Monkey Bread

In Bread, Breakfast, Brunch on January 14, 2011 at 12:00 pm

In the spirit of maintaining my resolution to eat healthier this year, I turned to Hungry Girl for this low-calorie version of an old favorite.  My sister bought me 2 of the Hungry Girl cookbooks for Christmas this year, and I couldn’t resist checking out her website to see what healthier recipes she had for some of my favorite classic meals.  I was rewarded for my efforts when I found this recipe for Monkey Bread.  For those of you wondering what exactly Monkey Bread is, it’s also referred to as sticky bread.  It is typically made of dough that is baked in a cake pan at high heat after first being  coated in melted butter, cinnamon, sugar, and sometimes chopped pecans.  It is traditionally served hot.

Hungry Girl‘s recipe for Monkey Bread calls for:

First, I combined 1 tbsp. Splenda and 1 tsp. cinnamon is a medium bowl.

Cinnamon and Splenda

Then, I places a small pot on the stove and placed the butter, syrup, brown sugar, 2 tbsp. of Splenda, and 1 tsp. cinnamon in it. I did not immediately heat it.

Ready to Heat

With the majority of the ingredients set aside for use later, I rolled out the dough on a clean, flat surface. Once I had sprinkled it with the baking soda I cut the sheet of dough widthwise into 6 strips of equal size. I then cut each strip into 4 squares.

Dough

I then rolled each square into a ball, and rolled 12 at a time in the Splenda and cinnamon mixture that I had set aside in the medium bowl. I then placed 4 dough balls each in each each cup of a muffin tin. Once this was done I heated the mixture on the stove. I constantly stirred the mixture until the butter was melted and the mixture was well blended into a gooey mixture.

Googey Mixture

Before sticking the muffin pan into the oven to bake I spooned the mixture evenly over the dough balls that were in the muffin tin. I then baked the Monkey Bread at 350°F for 10 minutes, or until the dough is puffy and firm.

YUM!

This was a HUGE success, and so easy to make. I will definitely be making this low-calorie treat again in the near future!

How are you doing with your New Year’s resolutions? Any cooking resolutions?

Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

