Slow Cooker American Chop Suey

In Comfort Food, Entrees, Leftovers on January 12, 2011 at 7:45 pm

I stumbled upon this recipe for Slow Cooker American Chop Suey, while browsing the web for something to make in my slow cooker on a snowy, winter day.  Chili is always a GREAT go to, but I wanted something a little different. I also wanted to use ground turkey instead of ground beef, as a way to keep with my healthier eating resolution. So here are the ingredients I used:

I started by dicing the green pepper and onion into small pieces. I then cooked the ground turkey with the diced onion and diced green pepper in a large skillet.

Turkey, Green Pepper, and Onion in the Skillet

Once the meat was thoroughly cooked, I transferred the mixture into my slow cooker, and added the garlic powder, paprika, cheese, tomato paste, and diced tomatoes. Then it was cover and cook on low heat for 6 hours.

American Chop Suey

About 10 minutes before I was done cooking I added the cooked macaroni. This made a delicious and easy meal that will keep me very happily eating leftovers for a few days. You all know how much I love meals that leave me with leftovers. This will certainly be a wonderful slow cooker treat to try again, possibly with more spices to turn up the heat!

What do you like to make in your slow cooker? Any tips or recipes I should try?

See you all next time and in the meantime…

Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

