Poinsettia Cookies

In cookies, Dessert on December 11, 2010 at 7:09 pm

Well, I was able to redeem my cookie making skills with this DELICIOUS recipe. I feel a lot better about myself, and my oven now. My friend Annie introduced me to this recipe last Christmas, but she did all the work, so I felt the need to try it out myself this season. The recipe was one that she had cut out of a newspaper, and while normally that isn’t how I find my recipes this one was just too delicious to pass up. I started by tracking down all the ingredients:

Ingredients

First, I melted the butter in the microwave. I then combined it with the confectioner’ sugar in a large mixing bowl.

Sugar and Butter

Once the sugar and butter were mixed thoroughly with a hand mixer, I added the egg, almond extract, and vanilla extract.

With the Egg and Extracts

Once these were all combined using the hand mixer, I added the salt.

Salt

Last, I added the flour, half a cup at a time so it would be easier to mix using the hand mixer.

Flour

Once, this was all combined, I had the dough I need to put in the refrigerator until it became firm. I split the dough in half and wrapped each half in plastic. The dough then chilled for about an hour.

Ready for the Refrigerator

Once the dough was chilled I removed it one half at a time. I rolled the dough out on a floured surface until it was about an 1/8th of an inch thick. I then used a circular cookie cutter to begin shaping each cookie. The cookies are delicate so I relocated them to a cookies sheet before I did any further shaping.

Dough Circles

I then made four cuts almost to the center of the circle, so that they were divided into quarters. I then folded alternating corners of the triangles these cuts made into the center. Once these cuts were made the cookies were ready to go into the oven.

Ready for the Oven

I then put the cookies in a THOROUGHLY preheated oven at a temperature of 350°F, and baked for 8 minutes.

Right Out of the Oven

This recipe yielded 2 and a half dozen DELICIOUS cookies. I am so excited about these, and the fact that it appears my oven and I are back in sync. This a definite MUST recipe for the holiday season. The cookies can also be decorate with red sprinkles or other decorations to make them a little more Poinsettia-esk, but I LOVED them as is. Let me know if they work out as well for you, because they are a definite…

MMMMM, Cookies

Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

