Snickerdoodles

In cookies, Dessert on December 10, 2010 at 5:55 pm

I’ve always been told that baking cookies is an art form, and either you’re good at it, or you aren’t. I have most fortunately always been good at it. This is probably why I have always enjoyed the Christmas season so much, LOTS of cookies baking! Sadly, the first 2 batches of these were not as successful as I have usually enjoyed my cookies to be. 😦 More on that later though.

I used Betty Crocker’s Holiday Snickerdoodle recipe for this. The recipe called for:

Ingredients!

These cookies are SUPER easy, because once you have all the ingredients together you need to only combine the cookie mix, flour, butter, and egg in a large bowl. I also like the cinnamon and sugar for my Snickerdoodles mixed into the dough, so I also added the sugar and cinnamon to this combination.

Dough

If you prefer, then once you have combined the cookie mix, flour, butter, and egg in a large bowl to make the dough, you can combine the cinnamon and sugar in a separate bowl. In this case you would create tablespoon size balls and roll them in the cinnamon and sugar mixture before placing them on a cookie sheet to bake.

In my case since my dough already had the cinnamon and sugar in it I made the tablespoon size balls and plopped them right on the cookies sheet. They then went into the oven for about 10 minutes at 375°F.

Ready for the Oven

Here’s where I ran into my problem. I didn’t preheat my oven long enough for the first batch, so they were a little small, and didn’t bake properly. I thought it was me, so I left the second batch in a little longer, and also made them a bit smaller. This resulted in burned, tiny cookies.

burned, little hockey pucks

My third batch, was much better, sadly it was also my last, as this recipe only yields about 3 dozen cookies. I made the cookies a little larger, about tablespoon size, and cooked them for 10 minutes. By this time my oven was heating evenly and the size of the cookies was much better.

Successful Cookies

Needless to say this was not my most successful cookie adventure, but in the end I finished with 12 delicious cookies! Not the most impressive showing ever.

Cookies

At least I know better for next time, and I also know that I need to not bake when I am exhausted from my last week of classes. Another day another lesson learned. I hope all of you have more luck than I did with this wonderful recipe.

Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

