Merry Chocolate Chip Cookies

In cookies, Dessert on November 29, 2010 at 8:38 am

::cue music:: It’s the most wonderful time of the year! ::cut music::

In my family the Christmas season starts very promptly after Thanksgiving dinner when we all sit down, and watch White Christmas. Then we eat the delicious desserts that make Thanksgiving even better. I’m a little bit of a Christmas season junkie, so many, many years ago it was deemed that I cannot start playing Christmas music until the day after Thanksgiving, so I consider this to be the OFFICIAL start of my holiday season. So once again, ::cue music:: It’s the most wonderful time of the year! ::cut music::.

One of my favorite parts of this most wonderful time of the year is the immense amount of cookies that I bake during this time of year. Nothing inspires the Christmas spirit, like baking Christmas Cookies. Not even finals can ruin my mood, when I can blare Christmas music and my entire apartment smells like cookies. Though I have to admit studying for my Comprehensive exam is trying very hard to ruin my Christmas cheer. But anyway, I decided to kick-off this season with some Merry Chocolate Chip Cookies. It’s a Betty Crocker recipe, which should tell you right off that bat that these are some AMAZING cookies. I started by getting all the ingredients together.

Just the ingredients bring me happiness. I started by combining the butter, shortening, sugar, light brown sugar, vanilla, and eggs in a large bowl, using a hand mixer. I beat these ingredients together until the mixture was smooth.

Sugars, Vanilla, Eggs, Butter, and Shortening

Next, I added the salt, baking soda, and 2 cups of flour to the mixture. Again, I used the hand mixer to beat the ingredients until they were smooth. I then added the last 2-1/4 cups of flour, and combined it using the hand mixer. As I added more flour the mixture became more difficult to use the hand mixer on, so in the end I needed to use a spatula to complete the mixing.

Dough

Once this was complete I added the chocolate chips, and ‘got my hands dirty’ making sure they were thoroughly distributed throughout the dough.

Chocolate Chips

Next, came the m&m’s, which I also used my hands to distribute through the dough.

M&M's

Now it was on to the cookie sheets, I used a heaping teaspoon of the dough for each cookie, and ended up with 125, slightly larger than bite-size cookies.

Ready for the Oven

The cookies baked for 7 minutes at 375°F.

Out of the Oven

First, off I LOVE these cookies. Second, I REALLY LOVE the fact that these cookies are bite-size. I also LOVE that they are so soft. The fact that they are so delicious and bite-size make them a little dangerous, but I believe that since it’s the holiday season, calories don’t count!

Lots of Cookies

What are your favorite kinds of holiday cookies?

Stay tuned for a few more of mine! In the meantime…

Bon Appétit!

  1. Wow your christmas cookies look so adorable. I love the beautiful green and red gems… they’re so cute and sounds yummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

