Turkey Pizza

In Comfort Food, Entrees, Leftovers on November 26, 2010 at 8:20 pm

There is maybe one thing better than Thanksgiving dinner…Thanksgiving leftovers! Turkey Pizza is a favorite in my house, and for this I couldn’t think of a better recipe to follow than my mom’s. Here are the ingredients:

Ingredients

  • Stove Top Stuffing Mix for Turkey (net wt. 6 oz)
  • 1 can Campbell’s Tomato Soup (11 oz.)
  • Shredded Cheddar Cheese
  • Leftover Turkey

My next step was to make the stuffing. I followed the directions on the box, and boiled 1-1/2 cups of water, but only used a tablespoon of butter, in a medium sauce pan. Once the contents of the pan had boiled I removed it from the heat and stirred in the stuffing mix. I then let it sit for about 5 minutes, before fluffing it with a fork. It was them into the pie pan for the stuffing, since it was the first layer of the pie.

Layer 1-Stuffing

My next task was to cut up the leftover turkey for the next later of the pie.

Turkey

The turkey slices were then layered on top of the stuffing in the pie pan.

Layer 2-Turkey

Next, I poured the tomato soup over the turkey, though this time I had to use old fashioned tomato rice, since my parents didn’t have any classic tomato in the house. It was a good improvisation though.

Layer 3-Tomato Soup

Next, and possibly my favorite part, sprinkle cheese over the top of the pie. Add as much as you like, though watch the edges, you don’t want it to burn in the oven.

Layer 4-Cheese

The pie then gets baked at 350°F for 30 minutes, or until the cheese is completely melted and the turkey is HOT!

Ready to Serve

This is a delicious way to serve leftover turkey, though I don’t recommend serving the leftover cranberry sauce with it. Cranberry sauce and tomato, I don’t think so! But it does have some delicious looking layers all the same.

Look at those Layers

This is a delicious, quick and easy dish, that is perfect when you come home late from some successful Black Friday shopping. Hope everyone had a successful shopping excursion, and a tasty Thanksgiving. What were some of your favorite parts? Any favorite ways to serve leftovers?

Let me know! I’m ALWAYS hungry for a new idea!

Bon Appetit!

  1. This looks delicious! Usually, what my family makes is gourmet turkey and mayo sandwiches 😉

Leave a Reply

