Caramelized Onion and Cornbread Stuffing

In Side Dishes on November 20, 2010 at 8:22 am

My search for the perfect stuffing continues! Today’s adventure was The Food Network’s Caramelized Onion and Cornbread Stuffing.  I have to admit, I haven’t settled on one for sure yet, but this was one for the books. It was also super easy, even if it did set off my smoke alarm, but more about that later.

Ingredients

I started by making my Honey Cornbread Muffins. I used 8 of them in this stuffing. After they cooled, I set to work on the stuffing. I began by chopping up both onions.

Onions

Then I melted the butter in a saucepan, and put in the onions to cook. As the onions cooked, I set to work cubing the cornbread muffins.

Cornbread Cubes

Once I had cubed the muffins, I put them into a bowl with a tablespoon of salt, and another tablespoon of pepper, and tossed them, so that they were coated evenly.

salt n' pepper cornbread

The onions were still cooking, so to speed up the process I turned the heat up. While they continued to cook, I set to work whisking together the egg, heavy cream, and chicken stock.

whisked ingredients

Insert, blaring smoke alarm here! Oops! Apparently, when onion is cooking on high heat, with butter in a saucepan, smoke happens. LOTS of SMOKE HAPPENS! On went the fans, off went the stove, up I went on the step stool waving a potholder at the smoke alarm. And it kept going, and going. Down I went off the step stool, and open went all the windows in my apartment. the smoke alarm eventually went off, but I’m fairly certain my neighbors want to kill me. Oops! Once, everything was under control again, I continued to cook the onions on LOW heat. Once they were soft I added them to the cornbread cubes.

Cornbread and Onion Mixture

Once the cornbread and onion was mixed thoroughly, I poured the egg, heavy cream, and chicken stock mixture over the cornbread. Then I thoroughly blended the mixture, and spooned it into a baking pan.

Ready for the Oven

I baked the stuffing at 375°F for about 30 minutes. The cornbread was just a little brown when I took it out.

Ready to Serve

This was completely delicious, and one of the perks is that if I had used vegetable stock, it would have been a vegetarian dish. I know there aren’t a lot of those on Thanksgiving, at least not with my family, so this would be a nice edition. If you are having any vegetarians for Thanksgiving dinner I highly recommend giving this a try. Actually, I highly recommend this stuffing even if you don’t have any vegetarians coming for Thanksgiving dinner.  This is definitely a treat I want on my dinner menu, but stay tuned, because there are more delicious Thanksgving dishes to come!

In the meantime….

Bon Appetit!

  1. Aaahh stoppp I want it to be tgiving NOW! Thanks for keeping us vegetarians in mind 🙂

  2. […] breadcrumb mix. Next time, I think I’ll make them this way. You could also literally put stuffing in the stuffed mushroom, that would also be DELICIOUS! So many options. Well, I have to go check […]

Leave a Reply

