Cranberry Sauce

In Side Dishes on November 17, 2010 at 8:00 am

Cranberry Sauce was one of my sister’s and my favorite parts of Thanksgiving, however in our house it looked a lot like….

Cranberry Sauce in a Can

It just wasn’t Thanksgiving in our house unless the cranberry sauce had lines in it.

Cranberry Sauce with Lines

This year however I am willing to explore my options, and possibly take a step away from the sauce with the lines. This is all dependent on me finding a PERFECT alternative. I’ve decided to start here, or rather on AllRecipes. I came across this recipe for Cranberry Sauce. This looked like a good starting point for me, and I was all set to go. Until I started scrolling through the reviews at the end of the recipe, and came across one that suggested I use:

Ingredients

Always the adventurer, I decided to go with this take on the recipe. I started by combining the sugars, cinnamon, and orange juice in a large saucepan. I then heated the mixture on medium heat until the sugars and cinnamon dissolved in the orange juice.

Sugars, Orange Juice, and Cinnamon

Once the sugars and cinnamon were dissolved, I stirred in the cranberries.

Cranberries

I then turned the heat up, and covered the saucepan. Then all I had to do was wait for the cranberries to POP!

Poppin' Cranberries

After about 10 minutes, all the cranberries had popped, and I removed them from the heat, and poured the contents of the saucepan into a bowl to cool.

Cooling Cranberry Sauce

As the sauce cools it will thicken, and when it is completely cool it can be served. I’m a little sad that it won’t have lines on it, but it sure looks tasty. It also tastes tasty. I could certainly make a case of this on my family’s Thanksgiving table, though I’m sure it will end in a taste test.

Ready to Serve

I hope you are all enjoying getting ready for the approaching holiday!

Bon Appetit!

  1. While your cranberry sauce looks delicious, I’m not sure that it’s Thanksgiving without the kind that is shaped like a can. 🙂

  2. There will no doubt be a HUGE family debate over the cranberry sauce 😉

  3. Only problem for me is that my family would only eat the jellied cranberry sauce. No cranberries in the sauce,please! Sure looks good though!

Leave a Reply

