Apple Crumb Coffee Cake

In Breakfast, Brunch on November 15, 2010 at 8:00 am

This delicious treat just made my morning much, much better! I couldn’t have enjoyed it anymore, or the smell of it cooking in my kitchen. Nothing like a nice warm kitchen in this nice fall weather. I started by following The Food Network‘s recipe for Apple Coffee Cake with Crumble Topping and Brown Sugar Glaze. I of course made a few enhancements. Let’s take a look at all the ingredients for the cake part:

Ingredients

I started by peeling and dicing what ended up being a little more than 2 cups of apples, though I wish I had used more. Though there was a delicious amount in the coffee cake.

Apples

My next step was to combine the stick of butter, light brown sugar, eggs, flour, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, sour cream, and vanilla in a bowl. I then used a hand mixer to blend it all together until smooth.

Ready for the Apples

I then folded in the apples, and evenly distributed the mixture in the bottom of a dark, 13 inch by 9 inch pan.

Coffee Cake Ready for the Oven

Once this was all set, I started to make the crumble topping. Normally, for the first round I would stick to the recipe, but this recipe DID NOT have me making enough crumble topping! Now, reader beware I love crumbles on the top of my coffee cake, so I may have gone a little over board, but still. I thought the result was delicious! Let’s look at the adjustments I made for more crumble topping:

I poured all the ingredients into a large mixing bowl, and beat it with a hand mixer until the mixture resembled crumbs, then I sprinkled them on top of the coffee cake.

Coffee Cake with Crumble

I then put it in the oven, which was heated to 350 °F. The coffee cake baked for 35 minutes, or until I could cleanly pull a knife out of the center of it. As it cooled a little, I made the glaze for the top, and changed the quantities up on this a little too.

  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 tablespoons water

    Brown Sugar Glaze

I drizzled the cooked coffee cake with the glaze and let it harden slightly, before I served/ate this!

Ready to Serve

This is a delicious addition to any brunch or even a breakfast. I absolutely loved this recipe and its result. I loved that it made so much too, and I’m sure my friends will too. This recipe is a complete keeper, and quite easy to make. This dish is a total…

Bon Appetit!

  1. My recent post is about a food network-inspired recipe too! I bet this dish made your kitchen smell wonderful.

  2. That looks amazing!!!

Leave a comment