Very Fall Dessert=Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

In Dessert on October 6, 2010 at 5:30 am

This entry is dedicated to my lovely sister Kaitlin for introducing me to this recipe. I would also like to send a shout-out to the Food Network, for, as usual BEING BRILLIANT!

the cookies have taken over my table!

Well, if you haven’t figured it out yet, this recipe is courtesy of the Food Network. My younger sister is a huge fan, and told me about their Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies. She’s had made them with her boyfriend once before, but it’s a new recipe for me, and you will not get to see me in OOPS mode. You were warned.

So the Food Network recipe called for a cup of light brown sugar, which is what I had in my kitchen, so I used that. Well, when I was cleaning up after the first cookie sheet was in the oven, I took the time to actually look at the bag that the brown sugar was in, only to discover that it was not in fact light brown sugar, but rather dark brown sugar! OOPS! Also, I didn’t pack it tightly, just loosely.

the pumpkin mix waiting for the flour mix

flour mix waiting to be added

I thought they turned out REALLY well though!

So a few other notes on this culinary adventure. First off, I didn’t have a lot of the spices that the recipe called for and they ended up being a little more expensive than I would have liked them to be. The good news on that side, is that I have now added some new spices to my spice cabinet. Always a plus! Another thing that bummed me out a little bit, was that I could only find a 30 ounce can of pumpkin puree, well actually it was Libby’s Pumpkin Pie Mix, it makes me really sad to waste food, so this really made me sad. I mean with 30 ounces I could have made 3 batches, and still had some left. Needless to say it is now sitting in my refrigerator, with the hope that I can use it to make 2 more batches later this week. Cross your fingers for me!

lots of ingredients

Let’s see what else did I do, oh! Well, first you should know that I have no patience at all…when it comes to waiting for butter to soften at least. I put the 2 sticks of butter the recipe called for in the microwave for a minute, and while it was more liquid than softened, it worked just the same. Also, I used non-stick cookie sheets instead of spraying them with nonstick cooking spray, no need for that! I also only put one sheet in at a time, since my oven doesn’t heat the top and bottom racks evenly, so one sheet would have been burned and the other hardly done, make sure you check this out in your oven before using both racks. My cookies also only baked for 10 minutes instead of the recommended 12 in the recipe, so make sure you check your cookies periodically. The edges are a little brown when they’re done.

ready for the oven

I LOVED that I could use my hand mixer the entire time, even when I blended in the flour mixture. A lot of times when I’ve made cookies once the flour is added you have to hand blend it since it becomes too hard for the mixer to handle.

Next time I think I’ll use more chocolate chips, becuase let’s be honest you can never have too many chocolate chips! I also won’t be wearing a dark plum colored top, because as I mentioned early I’m more than a bit of a messy cook, and my top was covered in flour by the time I was done. Oops!

SUCCESS!

Overall, it was a completely yummy experience, we’ll see what my co-workers think when I use them as guinea pigs tomorrow. More Fall flavors to come!

Let me know if you have any requests!

  1. I LOVED your blog. I could almost taste the cookies. PLEASE let me have the recipe, so I can indulge my craving for cookies! I can almost smell them baking and taste them warm from the oven. Bake on!

  2. I can vouch for the awesomeness of these cookies. I took some home planning to make them my dessert for the week. They were gone within 24 hours. More chocolate chips is ALWAYS a good idea.

    Also, I feel like it’s worth noting that their texture was more muffin top than crispy cookie (in my mind at least.) They were super soft, which I totally approve of.

    Yay for Autumn!

    • There’s a trick there, don’t you worry! First, take the cookies out when they are cooked through, but not quite crispy yet. Set them to cool-off, and (this is the key) while they are still a little warm seal/pack them in tupperware, which will keep them soft and chewy.

      Happy Baking!

Leave a Reply

